Last June 04, 2011, TAG Events organized Pinoy Pride Fair 2011,  a trade event highlighting a concert & comedy show culminated by the finest artists in the Philippines located at the Rock Auditorium, Suntec City, Singapore. The event featured an internationally renowned stand-up comedian Tim Tayag, & two of the most celebrated artists in the Philippine music industry, Aiza Seguerra & True Faith. One of the media partners of the event was MASP (Making Arts in Singapore through Photography), one of the largest photography group in Singapore composed of professional Filipinos who share the same passion in arts & photography. Fortunately, I am a member of the group & fortunately, I was one of the few who were selected to cover the event which makes me a “fortunate legal photographer”. And because I have the authority to point a lens into someone else’s nose, I left my ninja arsenal at home & borrowed my brother’s holy grail of event lens, Nikon 24-70 f2.8. I also carried my trusted 135mm f2 DC for tighter shots.

Part of the trade event showcased an exhibition of Kali Majapahit, a Filipino Martial Arts founded by Guro Fred Evrard focusing on stick fight, knife fight, empty hand boxing and wrestling.

Shots below were captured using rear sync flash, aperture priority at f2.8 & ISO 200, then simultaneously pressing the shutter while twisting the zoom ring to give that action look.

Upon entering the concert venue, I noticed that there were several lights turned off that were intended for the stage & the audience. Knowing that these lights need to be preheated, I was a bit worried because the show was about to start in a few minutes. The only illumination blanketing the stage were yellow lights at a standstill simulating a bar. It also struck me that the stage was only less than a meter high & the front row seats were sitting very close to the stage. So much for the photo pit.

Then the show started with a few fun & games from the sponsor Cebu Pacific. It was graced with the iconic flight stewardess dance that hit the YouTube a few months back. I plugged the holy grail lens & set my cam to aperture priority at f2.8, auto ISO maxed at 6400, & shutter limited to 1/125 minimum. When the dance started, the stage was still drenched with the yellow lights. All the fancy lighting that I hoped were all turned off. I hoped that maybe these lights don’t need to be preheated & they will blind us all when the concert starts.

Then it was time for Tim Tayag. I stuck with the same settings & captured some amusing moments.

“God created Filipinos to consume all the excess rice in this world”

When True Faith entered the stage, the lighting remained. The yellow lights were still brushing cheek to cheek with the artists. So much for the blinding surprise, I still stuck with my settings & started shooting “legally”.

Medwin, True Faith’s vocalist, was one of the most active performers on stage I have seen in my entire life. I had a hard time  locking on him & it  was like chasing a toddler on a playpen.

Then the spotlight turned to Aiza Seguerra as she graced a rendition of The Corr’s Runaway coupled with other heart warming revivals & originals.

The show ended with a bang from True Faith’s rendition of Electric Dreams.

I had so much fun shooting that I didnt notice the cramps twisting my arms & legs. Except for the tight photo pit & the yellow lights, the show was handled very well & it showed from the sweat & smiles from the audience that they needed more. The event marked a milestone  for MASP & the group was very grateful for TAG Events for the exposure.

Comments
  1. stpaul73 says:

    Solid set nnaman bai ayos! \m/

  2. Pola says:

    Galing mo Ian! Congrats! 🙂

  3. Glen says:

    idol pagkanindut.. mkainspire bai.. sugod nako ani mulinya.. keep them coming idol!

  4. yna says:

    superb shots ian !

  5. Renn says:

    Iba ka talaga idol

  6. Bruno says:

    ayus part! dumalaw pala si fiz sa SG? hehe!

  7. I’ve got my eyes locked on the @CebuPacificAir dancing stewardess.

  8. Ben says:

    Hi Ian! Great picture of the Kali Majapahit demo 🙂 We had lots of fun doing it with the other instructors and students! I was wondering if you’d be OK if I posted the pictures on our Facebook page? If you have more you’d like to share, let me know 🙂 I will definitely credit you. Cheers! Ben

    • Ian Soliva says:

      Hi Ben! Sure you can post this in facebook. It would be an honor. Just keep the watermark showing TAG Events & MASP. And I would be flattered if you credit me as well :-p haha! I do have a couple more of these shots though if you want. Do send me your email so I can send them. Thanks for visiting!

  9. love the composition of the photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

