It was late last February 6, 2012, when I received a phone call that our group, MASP (Making Arts in Singapore through Photography) along with Shifters Photography,  will be covering a concert organized by Alpha Phi Omega Alumni Association Singapore & Horton Entertainment. It was an event called “Pinoy Rock” showcasing two of the leading rock bands in the Philippines, Sandwich & 6Cyclemind, and they were set to perform at Top 5 Orchard Tower on March 3, 2012. Because I was given the opportunity to “shoot legally”, together with five more of our members, I did not hesitate to consider using the holy grail of events lens, the Nikon 24-70 2.8G, so I called up my brother to borrow his. I also wanted to shoot something different so I added his Tokina Fisheye 10-17mm F3.5-4.5 on the list. To top it all, I brought along my usual workhorse, the Nikon 135mm f2 DC. I was all set & ready to roll.

The stage had  a mixture of primary colored lights with a neutral spotlight for the vocalist. I set my camera to Manual, aperture at f 2.8, shutter at 1/250 sec, metering set to spot, & left my ISO at auto. This time, I set my limit at 3200, lower than my usual settings. I noticed that my camera was recently exhibiting strong noise banding at ISO above 3200 &  it was impossible to remove at post processing. It could have been a faulty sensor or something serious that may need to take this baby to the clinic.

Notice the noise banding at the upper left?

The first band that performed was Duster, an all female punk rock group composed of Katwo Puertollano (vocals), Kris Gorra (guitars),  Myrene Academia (bass), and Ristalle Bautista (drums). Two of the members were no strangers to me since Myrene is famous for playing bass for Sandwich while Ristalle is an acquaintance back from college. Dressed in a modernized “duster” clothing, Katwo simply stole the show with her punk rock headbanging stage presence while the rest of the band laid back in an orderly fashion.

Then it was time for 6Cyclemind to take the stage with Kean Cipriano of Callalily. I have heard of the band before making rounds in Philippine radio stations but it was the first time I saw them live, both 6Cyclemind & Kean. During the show, Kean proved that he was a frontman not to be underestimated. He sang, danced, climbed up to the audience, hanged on the railings, & laid on the floor doing what a performer does best, entertain. With all his graceful antics, he brought the house down sending every girl at Top 5 screaming.

After Kean sent the ladies into euphoria, Ney Dimaculangan stepped up the stage to jam with his ex-bandmates. It was announced last year that Ney parted with his band to go solo, which made this gig a very memorable one. Despite the frontman’s departure, the band’s performance was still intact & not a hint of discomfort was felt. At the end of their last song, 6Cyclemind proved that they are a force to be reckoned with and they will keep rocking the Philippine music scene for many years to come.

Comments
  1. The lighting designer is great and your shots too, nice gallery!

  2. Abcd says:

    Ganda! Nakakasawa na. Mag post ka naman ng panget na kuha. Hehe!

  3. vin dancel says:

    hi ian! please shoot me an email. i’d like to send you an email about pinoytuner =)

    pislabenrakenrol,
    vin

  4. SevBJr says:

    i’ll tell my children, “don’t aspire to become a rockstar, be a rockstar photog like idol ian!” ehehehe. galing talaga wala na ako masabi sir!

  5. […] SAID, SHE SAID… SevBJr on 6Cyclemind @ Pinoy Rock in Singapore 2012Ian Soliva on 6Cyclemind @ Pinoy Rock in Singapore 2012Abcd on 6Cyclemind @ Pinoy Rock in […]

  6. wohooo!! im so proud of you my hubby 🙂

  7. Glad Landicho says:

    Darn it! So galing! =)

  8. Wala akong masabi. Isa ka sa pinaka magaling mag shoot sa gig.

  9. Glen says:

    Sagad! panalong panalo fisheye! Hehe

  10. buena says:

    hey nice shots! the lighting is so amazing…. na capture lahat ng elements ng gig. hope you can visit manila soon and shoot more photos for callalily and 6cyclemind. and thank you to your friend glad landicho for sharing this wonderful blog to us. she posted this link to our fan group keansangels on twitter. i was really surprise! salamat ulit!

    • Ian Soliva says:

      thanks Buena! I didnt know Glads is an avid fan of Kean.. haha! Yeah I hope I can visit & shoot the Philippine rock scene someday. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

