Tokyo Blue @ Mosaic Music Festival 2012

Posted: March 12, 2012 in Concerts, Mosaic Music Festival, Music Festivals
Tags: , , , ,

Mosaic Music Festival is a week-long annual event in Singapore held within the Esplanade premises that feature live acts of diverse musical genres from artists of different countries. One of the bands that I was able to catch was a jazz-influenced progressive rock trio called Tokyo Blue. The band consists of Japanese bassist Hiroaki Maekawa, Indonesian pianist Ywenna Carollin, and Cuban drummer Pablo Calzado bringing the best of the three nationalities and mixing it under one extraordinary music phenomenon. From complex chord progression to off-beat timing, I was blown away with the technical expertise and the intricacy of the group. I was witnessing Prog at its best and it was one of those times when I had a hard time trying to nail my focus and ended up keeping my camera just to enjoy the show. 

I used my workhorse 135mm f2 DC lens most of the time & borrowed my buddy Abs’ 50mm 1.8D for the last shot below. All shots were taken at Manual, aperture at f 2.2, shutter speed at 1/250 sec, and ISO set at Auto at 3200 maximum. Metering was set to Spot except for the last photo below which was taken at Matrix metering

Tokyo Blue is one of those bands that drives complexity into the musical senses of your brain & delivers a strong message that keeps you longing for more. I highly recommend to anyone reading this to check these guys out!

Comments
  1. As usual, 135 mm rules! haha the pianist is beautiful anyway 🙂

  2. Hi Ian

    I’m the drummer , great photos! if you are allow to send the photos on original size I’ll really appreciate amazing work! see you soon

  3. Abcd says:

    Yan ang malupit!

  4. Alden says:

    As always Ang lupit talaga ng kuha mo!

Leave a Reply

