Megadeth TH1RT3EN World Tour Live In Singapore 2012

Posted: August 17, 2012 in Concerts, International Artists, Megadeth
Tags: , , , , ,

A few months back, I received a call from a co-photog, Darwin, asking me to back him up for the upcoming Megadeth TH1RT3EN World Tour in Singapore. Apparently, I have been pestering him to rope me in since day one ever since he was contacted by LinVan Productions to cover their shows here. All the harassment has finally paid off & I was officially given the “all access pass”. LinVan Productions have been granting concert goers’ wishes for more than a decade & whenever they do, they never fail to impress the fans. The moment I knew they got the show, I nodded in full confidence. And special thanks to buddy Darwin, I owe you one! 

My intention was to pack light since I did not want to haul 50 pounds of gear in & out of the photo pit so I only brought two lenses,  the Nikon AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8 G & Nikon 135mm F2 DC. The photo pit was very spacious, with about 2-3 meters wide, big enough for a private mosh pit. I set my cam in Manual, aperture at f2.8 for the 24-40 & f2.2 for the 135mm, shutter at 1/250, ISO at auto at 6400 max, & metering was set to spot for the ISO. Luckily, the lighting was very generous that my cam rarely had to push up to ISO 6400.

We, the official photographers, were given the first three songs rule, a usual norm in the concert photography industry. Which means that as soon as Dave Mustaine & his comrades start ripping the stage, we beat the hell up in the photo pit. And at the end of the third song, all of us have to pack our things & clear the area.

First three songs felt like a quick uppercut from Mike Tyson that I never had the chance to review my shots. When I made my way out of the photo pit, I noticed that my shots were redundant & if I had to pick out the common denominators, I would only end up with less than ten shots. I was free to shoot anyway so I continued spraying using the 135mm from the crowd.

The show kicked the living daylights out of  every Megadeth fan, with Dave constantly humoring with the crowd. It was a bit short for me, or maybe too fast, but as you can see from the set list below, they delivered the right goods. The show was set-up perfectly, no technical restraints & the weather was very cooperative. Cool breeze, old school riffs, sick crowd, it was a heavy metal sanctuary.

Set List

  1. Never Dead
  2. Head Crusher
  3. Hangar 18
  4. Trust
  5. She-Wolf
  6. Dawn Patrol
  7. Poison Was the Cure
  8. A Tout Le Monde
  9. Angry Again
  10. Whose Life (Is It Anyways?)
  11. Public Enemy No. 1
  12. Symphony of Destruction
  13. Peace Sells
     Encore:
  14. Holy Wars… The Punishment Due / In My Darkest Hour
Comments
  1. zilvidu says:

    mind blogging set idol!!!! … i mean.. mind boggling!
    see i can’t spell anymore.. i’m so boggled! =)

  2. “A photographer will get better results if they are photographing objects at close range”. Yeah, you did!

    I think this is the one of the best of your sets ever I’ve seen, great shots were here, 100% success. Keep inspiring dude!

  3. Glen says:

    Sagad na sagad to ah.. sumikip dibdib ko sa inggit hahah.. galing!

  4. Omar Maulana says:

    nice shots! and you didn’t forgot the drummer 😀

Leave a Reply

